The Name of the Blog

I suppose some explanation as to the chosen moniker of this blog is in order.

First explanation: some of the really good ones are already taken. What’s doubly galling is the fact that several of these have a single post from years ago and now lie dormant and forgotten. Should we start a crusade to Delete unused blogs and free up the site names for the rest of humanity?

I originally wanted a site name based on my life verse: 2 Corinthians 3:18: “And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit.” (That verse is so rich it deserves its own blog post someday.)

So all the catchy phrases I could come up with based on that idea (“unveiledface”, “unveiledfaces”, “glorytoglory”, etc.) were already taken.

This is one consequence of getting into the blogging scene a little late in the game.

A momentary digression: There’s an excellent blog out there called thetenthleper.com. I love the name of that blog. If I were cleverer I would have come up with something like that. It’s well worth checking out, by the way. He has a good review of Rob Bell’s latest book (Love Wins), as well as a number of other thought provoking posts.

Second explanation: there is a good reason for the choice that was ultimately landed on. Yes, it’s somewhat Christian cliché, I admit it. I told you I’m an amateur when it comes to writing. It’s taken, of course, from the well-known verse: “I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.” (Psalm 119:11).

Hiding his Word in our hearts. . .

The long story: a good friend of mine suggested to me over a year ago that we work together encouraging each other in Bible memory. Great idea, I thought. It had been years since I had made that a personal priority, I am ashamed to admit.

He said, “Let’s memorize Ephesians.” OK. A few months later, after arduous hard work and struggle, we had accomplished it. (We even had a party to celebrate.)

As we were wrapping up Ephesians, he came back with a suggestion for a longer book with more chapters. OK, great. <Deep breath>. <Exhale>.

How far can we go with this? How much can we hold in our heads (or keep hidden in our hearts) all at once?

This is a question I am asking myself, and I don’t yet know the answer, but I’ll get back to you on it as we get farther down the road. But ultimately this prodding by a faithful brother in Christ has been one of those “watershed” moments in my own spiritual journey, so much so that I would like to devote a fair number of posts to the topic in order that I might be a prodding encouragement to some of you as he was to me.

So this topic of Hiding His Word is meant to be a theme, but by no means the only theme, of this blog.

It’s just one small piece of the broader theme of being transformed into His image . . .  2 Cor 3:18 . . .as I mentioned before. . .

Even if I couldn’t come up with that catchy title to go with it . . .

About Neil Burleson

I serve as a missionary in the country of Papua New Guinea.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Scripture Memory. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

